Juveniles are not technically found guilty of crimes if the court finds that they committed an offense. However, children are charged with violations equivalent to these crimes, but are not going to be found guilty or not guilty of crimes in the way adults are.
Can I come with my child to Court?
Yes. You must come with your child to Court. At least one parent or legal guardian is required to accompany the juvenile for all Court hearings.
Can a juvenile plead "guilty"?
Juveniles can either "admit" or "deny" charges against them. Just as in adult Court, juveniles are considered innocent until proven guilty.
What is a "delinquent act"?
A delinquent act is any act that would be called a crime if committed by an adult.
What is a misdemeanor?
A misdemeanor is a less serious offense than a felony. In Ohio, misdemeanor crimes carry maximum penalties of six months imprisonment and/or a $1,000 fine
What is post-conviction relief in Ohio?
Ohio state law allows convicted individuals to file a petition for post-conviction relief if the individual believes that their rights were infringed upon during trial, or that they compelling evidence has come to the forefront.
What is the most common type of post-conviction relief?
he most common type of post conviction relief is the direct appeal filed after a defendant is convicted subsequent to a trial
How long does a felony carry in Ohio take?
between 3 and 11 years
What is the statute of limitations for felonies in Ohio?
Typically, the Ohio criminal statute of limitations for felonies is six years. However, felonies have different statute of limitations depending on the type of felony committed
How long after a crime can you be charged?
Section 179 of the Criminal Procedure Act 1986 (NSW) reads as follows: Proceedings for a summary offence must be commenced not later than 6 months from when the offence was alleged to have been committed